Welcome to Sareban,

 

A place where musical traditions from across the Universe are cherished. Where we are keen to represent talented artists and their cultures in Switzerland and abroad, but also to help these cultures be expressed in the city of Lausanne and its vicinity.

Chakam
Sogol Mirzaei (tar), Saghar Khadem (tombak), Vahideh Eisaei (qanun). 〉 Booking 

Duo Chakam
Sogol Mirzaei (tar, setar), Saghar Khadem (tombak) 〉 Booking 

FR

Chakam
To say these women can play would be the most colossal of understatements. ... The audience was alternately rapt and bopping. Gauged by the spontaneous audience appreciation, the performance of the Chakam Ensemble was the most popular of those that I witnessed. Fair enough too.
Benjamin Woods, dailyreview.com.au, January 23, 2018

Sogol Mirzaei, Vahideh Eisaei and Saghar Khadem illuminate the essence of Iran’s traditional art music. Chakam, feminine harmony of virtuosic strings and an intoxicating percussion, in the eye of a spirited and youthful friendship.

 

Their performances are built according to the rules of the subtle art of radif, where intense rhythmical moments answer profound melodious tirades, where intimate and modern improvisations join authentic ancient Persian compositions. The listener, by the vibrations of the luth and zither entwined, is immersed into the delights of a delicate contemplation. Yet his heart tirelessly blooms again carried by the solar percussions. Within this sincere harmony opens a window on a singular musical universe, intimate yet majestic.

 

Chakam was born in 2014, celebrating a long-lasting friendship between its three musicians who live separately between France, the Netherlands and Australia. Reunited through music, they have already presented their art in front of ravished audiences in France and Switzerland, genuine ambassadors of the wonderful Iranian culture. Lately, they performed as a trio in Lyon and Paris, in Lausanne, Switzerland, opening act for the great artist Kayhan Kalhor and then for full-house audience on campus, as well as in Geneva as part of the « Persian Notes » festival in March 2017. In January 2018, the trio toured Australia, giving concerts in Hobart as part of the Mona Foma festival, in Adelaide as well as in Melbourne.

Mona Foma Festival, Hobart (Australia), 01.2018

Inland Concert Series, Melbourne (Australia), 01.2018

Forum RLC, Lausanne (Switzerland), 03.2017

« چکام - Tchakām (Persian) : a lyrical poem, preceding the ghazal »

Alhambra, Geneva (Switzerland), 03.2017

Sogol Mirzaei
Vahideh
Saghar

Sogol Mirzaei ~ tar

Vahideh Eisaei ~ qanun

Saghar Khadem ~ tombak

Bios

Sogol enthralls lovers of music and the radif, the classical art music of Iran, which she interprets with profound sensuality. She followed musical guidance at Tehran’s National Conservatory on the lute tar under master Hooshang Zarif and master Arshad Tahmasebi, before pursuing with ethnomusicology at University of Sorbonne, Paris. A specialist of tar playing styles, she also perfected her mastery of setar there with Reza Ghasemi. In Iran, she performed with many ensemble in the most prestigious venues (Vahdat opera, Niavaran palace, Fadjr festival…), while she now focuses on a remarkable soloist adventure in Europe, founding Chakam in 2014.

Vahideh grew up in an artistic family full of love for music and poetry. She was thus naturally brought to complete musical studies in Tehran, and achieved a Master of Music at the University of Western Australia. Through different ensembles performing in Europe, Australia and the Middle East, Vahideh has been presenting for more than a decade the round and delicate tones of qanun ; an instrument seldom heard in Persian music, to which she gave a distinct Persian mood. Besides, she has been conducting research on music with children, leading her passionate work to the blossoming of musical aptitudes from a young age.

Saghar embraced the subtle art of the Iranian chalice drum being at a very young age, learning from her great grand-mother, before attending the classes of Tehran’s National Conservatory and then Sweden’s Göteborg Music Academy. She was then acclaimed in 2006 as one of the best musicians of her generation at Tehran’s great Fadjr Arts Festival, for playing tombak, and the frame drums dayereh and daf. She gave since then a lot of performances across the world, especially noted for her collaborations with celebrated Persian singers and musicians from very diverse musical backgrounds.

Media

Didar

Composition by Sogol Mirzaei in mode Nava. Recorded live on air at the Swiss radio 13.03.17

Sarkesh

Composition by P. Meshkatian in mode Nava. Recorded live at L’Alhambra de Genève in front of 400 people 17.03.17

Improvisations

Solos with qanun and tar. Recorded live at L’Alhambra de Genève in front of 400 people 17.03.17

Listen to the radio broadcast Paradiso on the Swiss radiostation La Première, 13.03.2017

Listen to the concert broadcasted on the Swiss radiostation Espace 2 La note bleue, 25.09.2016

Duo Chakam

Prior to Chakam was the duet founded in 2014 by Sogol Mirzaei and Saghar Khadem, to let the art they received sing out loud, following pure Persian tradition. Under the grace of their dancing fingers, the true essence of radif emerges in their creation, as the rose perfumes the alleys of gardens where Lovers surrender.

 

From melodious inspirations to intricate rhythmical pieces, an invitation to join them in a sensual, delicately woven encounter with the fabulous East. Sogol reveals yet another side of her sensibility, around the soft sonority of the setar.

 

One musician living in Paris, the other in Amsterdam, they can easily meet and perform in various events across Europe.

« ساربان - Sārebān (Persian) : cameleer, caravaneer »

About

about

Mathieu, to be found somewhere in between the Swiss Tech Institute of Lausanne and some distant daydreamed Orient.

Concerts in Lausanne/Switzerland happen here Amdathtra musiques du monde.

Contact

Bienvenue chez Sareban,

 

Lieu où s’expriment les traditions musicales de part et d’autre de l’univers, où l’on tient à cœur de représenter de talentueux artistes et leurs cultures en Suisse ainsi qu’à l’étranger, et de faire vivre aussi ces musiques dans la ville de Lausanne ou ses environs.

Chakam
Sogol Mirzaei (tar), Saghar Khadem (tombak), Vahideh Eisaei (qanun). Bientôt en tournée

Duo Chakam
Sogol Mirzaei (tar, setar), Saghar Khadem (tombak)
〉 Booking 

EN

Chakam

Sogol MirzaeiVahideh Eisaei et Saghar Khadem brillent aux sources de la musique traditionnelle persane. Chakam, harmonie des cordes virtuoses et d’une percussion enivrante, portée par un souffle de jeunesse et une fraîche complicité féminine.

 

Leurs perfomances sont bâties selon les codes de l’art subtil du radif, où d’intenses passages rythmiques répondent aux vibrantes tirades mélodieuses, où improvisations personnelles et modernes se mêlent à l’authenticité des anciennes compositions persanes. L’auditeur s’en trouve plongé, par les résonances consonantes du luth et de la cithare, dans les délices d’une profonde contemplation. Inlassablement, il rejaillit le coeur porté par l’allégresse de la percussion aux battements libérateurs. Dans cette sincère harmonie s’ouvre une fenêtre sur un univers musical singulier, intime et grandiose.

 

Chakam est formé en 2014, célébration d’une longue amitié entre ses trois musiciennes séparées maintenant entre la France, la Hollande et l’Australie. Réunies par et pour la musique, elles ont présenté leur art devant des audiences émues en France et en Suisse, ambassadrices de la culture iranienne dans ce qu’elle a de plus beau. Dans sa déclinaison en trio, la formation s’est notamment produite à Lyon et Paris, à Lausanne, en première partie du grand artiste Kayhan Kalhor à l’Octogone et à l’auditoire Rolex de l’EPFL, ainsi qu’à Genève au sein du festival « Notes Persanes » des Ateliers d’Ethnomusicologie, au Musée d’Ethnographie et à L’Alhambra.

« چکام - Tchakām (persan) : forme poétique lyrique antérieure au ghazal »
Sogol Mirzaei
Vahideh
Saghar

Sogol Mirzaei ~ tar

Vahideh Eisaei ~ qanun

Saghar Khadem ~ tombak

Biographies

Sogol fait l’admiration des amoureux du râdif, la musique savante d’Iran, qu’elle interprète avec profonde sensualité. Au conservatoire de Téhéran, elle se forme au luth tar auprès des maîtres Houshang Zarif et Arshad Tahmasebi, puis poursuit son chemin en France en ethnomusicologie à la Sorbonne. Spécialiste des styles d’interprétation du tar, elle s’y perfectionne aussi au setar avec Reza Ghassemi. En Iran, elle a donné de nombreux concerts en ensemble dans les lieux les plus prestigieux (Opéra Vahdat, Palais de Niavaran, Festival des Arts de Fadjr…), tandis qu’elle avance à présent dans une remarquable aventure de soliste en Europe, notamment avec Chakam qu’elle fonde en 2014.

Vahideh a grandi dans un milieu artistique empli d’amour pour la musique et la poésie. Elle mène donc naturellement des études de musique à Téhéran, qu’elle achève par un Master en musique de l’Université d’Australie-Occidentale. A travers différents ensembles en Europe, en Australie et au Moyen-Orient, cela fait plus de douze ans que Vahideh présente les belles et rondes sonorités du qanun, instrument peu représenté dans la musique persane à qui elle a su donner un caractère proprement persan. En parallèle, elle mène des recherches sur la musique chez les enfants, un sujet qui la passionne et qui l’amène également à travailler à leur éveil musical.

Saghar débute très jeune l’art subtil du tambour à calice iranien auprès de son arrière-grand-mère, puis de plusieurs maîtres. Par la suite, c’est dans les classes du Conservatoire de Téhéran et de l’Académie de Musique de Göteborg qu’elle poursuit sa formation. Ce qui l’amène en 2006 à être reconnue comme l’une des plus talentueuses musiciennes de sa génération au Festival des Arts Fadjr de Téhéran avec le tombak, et les percussions sur cadre dayereh et daf. Elle a depuis donné de nombreuses performances autour du monde, notamment avec de fameux chanteurs persans, ainsi que des musiciens de différentes traditions musicales.

Media

Didar


Composition de Sogol Mirzaei dans le mode Nava. Enregistré en live à l’émission Paradiso sur la Radio Suisse le 13.03.17

Sarkesh


Composition de P. Meshkatian dans le mode Nava. Enregistré live à L’Alhambra de Genève devant 400 personnes le 17.03.17

Improvisations


Solos au qanun et au tar. Enregistré live à L’Alhambra de Genève devant 400 personnes le 17.03.17

Ecouter le passage à l’émission Paradiso sur la radio suisse La Première, le 13.03.2017

Ecouter le concert diffusé sur l’émission de la radio suisse Espace 2 La note bleue, le 25.09.2016

Duo Chakam

Aux origines de Chakam, le duo formé en 2014 par Sogol Mirzaei et Saghar Khadem pour faire chanter avec grâce l’art dont elles sont les dépositaires, dans la pure tradition persane. Sous leurs doigts virtuoses, l’essence du radif appropriée résonne dans l’entrelacs du luth et de la percussion, comme la rose parfume les allées des jardins où divaguent les Amoureux.

 

D’inspirations mélodiques en pièces rythmées, elles nous invitent à les rejoindre à la rencontre de cet Orient des sens, à la trame méticuleusement tissée. Sogol y dévoile également une autre silhouette de sa sensibilité, derrière les sonorités douces que procure le luth setar.

 

L’une des musiciennes vivant à Paris, l’autre à Amsterdam, il leur est aisé de se retrouver pour présenter leur art à l’occasion de dates ponctuelles en Europe.

« ساربان - Sārebān (persan) : le chamelier, le caravannier »

A propos

about

Mathieu, quelque part entre l’Ecole Polytechnique de Lausanne et un Orient rêvé, de passage.

 

Pour les concerts à Lausanne/Pully, c’est ici Amdathtra musiques du monde.

Contact